The short version
- Two softgels per serving, 120 per bottle (60 servings). Each serving lists 1,280 mg total omega-3s, including 650 mg EPA and 450 mg DHA, in 2 g of fat and 20 calories.
- $43.18 on Sep 30, 2026: about $0.72 per labeled serving ($43.18 ÷ 60), or $0.36 per softgel.
- The format trade-off: no sweetener or sugar, but two capsules to swallow, a gelatin shell whose animal source the label does not name, and fish (anchovies, sardines, mackerel, herring) as the oil source.
A week in the organizer
2 softgels per labeled serving · one bottle ≈ 60 days at that serving
- MON
- TUE
- WED
- THU
- FRI
- SAT
- SUN
The label's suggested use: "Adults take two soft gels daily, with food, or as recommended by your health care professional." It also describes a four-softgel day (two, twice daily, with food), which would halve the bottle to 30 days. The strip draws the basic serving and is not our suggestion.
What the label shows
We read the Supplement Facts panel from the carton image on the Amazon listing for the 120-count lemon bottle (ASIN B002CQU54Q) on September 30, 2026. Serving size: 2 soft gels. Servings per container: 60. The amounts below are copied from that panel.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % Daily Value | What to know |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 20 | – | From the oil itself. |
| Total fat | 2 g | 3% | Two softgels are roughly 2 g of oil. |
| Total omega-3s | 1,280 mg | no DV | Includes EPA, DHA and other omega-3s in triglyceride form (rTG), per the footnote. |
| EPA (eicosapentaenoic acid) | 650 mg | no DV | Part of the 1,280 mg. |
| DHA (docosahexaenoic acid) | 450 mg | no DV | Part of the 1,280 mg. EPA + DHA = 1,100 mg, leaving 180 mg of other omega-3s. |
The panel footnotes also state less than 5 mg of cholesterol per serving (under 1% DV). Ingredients: purified deep sea fish oil (from anchovies, sardines, mackerel and herring), soft gel capsule (gelatin, glycerin, water, natural flavor), natural flavor, RRR-alpha tocopherol (antioxidant) and rosemary extract (a natural preservative). The carton says "No gluten, milk derivatives, or synthetic dyes", that the fish oil is processed in Norway, and that the product is manufactured in the U.S.
The bottle front lists support claims for several body systems. We do not repeat them, and the product photo on this page has that claim line edited out; everything else on the bottle is as published on the listing.
What the format changes
A softgel is a sealed oil container. Fish oil is a liquid, and a softgel wraps a measured dose of it in a gel shell so you never taste or measure the oil. Nothing has to be added to make it palatable beyond a lemon flavor, which appears both in the oil and in the shell. That is why the panel has no sugar, sugar alcohol or sweetener line.
Two pieces per serving. A serving of 1,280 mg of omega-3s is split across two softgels, so each one carries 640 mg (our arithmetic from the panel). The listing does not publish softgel dimensions and we did not measure one; if large capsules are hard for you, that is the question to settle before buying a 120-count bottle.
The shell is gelatin, source not stated. The ingredients say "gelatin, glycerin, water, natural flavor" without naming the animal. Anyone avoiding a particular animal source for dietary or religious reasons should ask the manufacturer before buying; the label alone does not answer it.
Softgel vs. the same brand's gummy. Nordic Naturals also sells Ultimate Omega Gummy Chews, whose listing says zero sugar. A chew has to be sweetened and set with other ingredients, and its Amazon listing gives 1,200 mg of omega-3s per 2 chews, slightly less than the 1,280 mg in 2 softgels. Our gummies vs. tablets guide walks through that comparison, including cost per serving.
Storage and oil. The label says to store the bottle in a cool, dry place, away from sunlight, and not to use it if the tamper-evident seal is broken or missing. The added tocopherol and rosemary extract are there, per the label, as an antioxidant and a preservative for the oil. Our storage guide covers softgels in heat.
What the evidence says about the nutrient
MedlinePlus describes omega-3 fatty acids as a type of polyunsaturated fat that we need to build brain cells and for other important functions, and notes that the body does not make them on its own, so they have to come from the diet [2]. Oily fish such as salmon, mackerel, albacore tuna, trout and sardines contain the two kinds found in this product, EPA and DHA; plant foods such as flaxseed and walnuts supply a different omega-3, ALA [2].
The same page says most health experts agree the best way to get omega-3s is from food, because whole foods bring other nutrients along, and it advises asking a health care provider whether fish oil supplements are a good idea for you [2]. There is no Daily Value for EPA or DHA, which is why the panel shows a dagger instead of a percentage.
The label's "rTG" footnote refers to re-esterified triglyceride, the chemical form the oil is sold in. The listing makes absorption claims for that form; we have not reviewed evidence for them and do not repeat them.
The label warns: consult your physician before taking this product if you have a known medical condition or are taking medications, including blood thinners. It is also a fish product (anchovies, sardines, mackerel, herring), so anyone with a fish allergy should not assume it is suitable.
Price and where it is sold
On September 30, 2026 the Amazon listing showed $43.18 for the 120-count lemon bottle, in stock, sold by Nordic Naturals and shipped from Amazon. At two softgels per serving that is about $0.72 per labeled serving ($43.18 ÷ 60), or about $1.44 on a four-softgel day. The listing marked the item non-returnable for food-safety reasons. Prices move; read this as a dated observation. See the listing on Amazon. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Seals: the carton images show a "3rd party purity tested" badge and a non-GMO tested mark. The badge does not name a testing program we could look up, so we do not credit it as a seal.
Who should look elsewhere
- Anyone who takes blood thinners or other medications, or has a known medical condition: the label says to talk to a physician first.
- Anyone with a fish allergy, or who avoids fish.
- Anyone who needs to know the gelatin's animal source before buying: the label does not state it.
- People who find two capsules hard to swallow may prefer the gummy chews, at a different dose and price per serving.
Sources
- Amazon.com. Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega, 1280 mg Omega-3 Fish Oil, Lemon, 120 Count (ASIN B002CQU54Q): listing text, safety information and carton images including the Supplement Facts panel and suggested use. Viewed Sep 30, 2026 (link in the price section). The manufacturer's site refused our automated request that day.
- MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine). Patient instructions on omega-3 fats. Accessed Sep 30, 2026. link
This entry is educational and is not medical advice. Statements about dietary supplements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Ask a qualified clinician or pharmacist before starting any supplement, especially if you are pregnant, nursing, have an existing condition, or take medication.